
City Clerk’s Office 
4800 West 92nd Avenue 
Westminster, Colorado  80031-6387 
303-658-2161    FAX 303-706-3924

RETAIL LIQUOR STORE AND LIQUOR LICENSED DRUG STORE 
TASTINGS PERMIT APPLICATION 

APPLICATION FEE OF $50 REQUIRED WHEN TASTING PERMIT IS APPROVED 
THIS PERMIT WILL RUN CONCURRENTLY WITH THE STATE LIQUOR LICENSE 

LICENSEE NAME:_____________________________________LICENSE NO.__________________  

NAME OF RESPONSIBLE BUSINESS CONTACT:_________________________________________ 

LICENSEE ADDRESS:________________________________________________________________ 

LICENSEE EMAIL:_____________________________ LICENSEE TELEPHONE NO. ____________ 

LICENSEE IS REQUIRED TO PROVIDE THE CITY CLERK’S OFFICE WITH A SCHEDULE 
OF DATES AND TIMES THE TASTINGS WILL BE CONDUCTED.  SUCH NOTICE SHALL 
BE SUBMITTED AT LEAST 72 HOURS PRIOR TO TASTINGS.   

5-14-15 (C)  VIOLATION.  IT SHALL BE UNLAWFUL FOR ANY PERSON TO CONDUCT A TASTING
WITHOUT A TASTING PERMIT ISSUED BY THE CITY OR TO CONDUCT SUCH TASTING IN ANY
MANNER NOT IN COMPLIANCE  WITH THE RULES AND REGULATIONS IN SECTION 44-3-301, C.R.S.
OR THIS SECTION.  FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH SAID SECTIONS SHALL BE CONSIDERED A
VIOLATION OF THE COLORADO BEER AND LIQUOR CODES AND MAY BE SANCTIONED AS ANY
OTHER VIOLATION OF THE CODES.

CERTIFICATION OF APPLICANT:  I understand that it is my responsibility that all current and 
future employees complete a server training program that meets the standards established by the State Liquor 
Enforcement Division.  I understand that it is my responsibility and the responsibility of my employees to comply 
with all applicable laws, including all applicable provisions of the Westminster Municipal Code and the Colorado 
Liquor or Beer Code and Regulations, which affect my license. 

LICENSEE AUTHORIZED SIGNATURE: _______________________________ DATE ____________ 

APPROVED BY CITY CLERK:________________________________________ DATE: ___________ 



STATE LAW 
• Tastings shall be conducted only by a person who has completed a server training

program that meets the standards established by the Liquor Enforcement division
• Person conducting tastings may be an employee of a retail liquor store or liquor-

licensed drugstore licensee, or a representative, employee, or agent of the licensed
wholesaler, brew pub, distillery pub, manufacturer, limited winery, importer, or
vintner's restaurant promoting the alcohol beverages for the tasting

• Tastings must take place on the licensee’s licensed premises
• Alcohol used in tastings shall be purchased through a licensed wholesaler, licensed

brew pub, or winery, at a cost that is not less than the laid in cost of such alcohol
• Alcohol samples must not exceed one half of one ounce, Malt or vinous liquor

samples must not exceed one ounce
• Tastings must be conducted between the hours of 11 a.m. and 9 p.m.
• Tastings shall not exceed a total of 5 hours per day which need not be consecutive
• Licensee shall prohibit patrons from leaving the premises with unconsumed sample
• Licensee shall promptly remove all open and unconsumed alcohol from the licensed

premises or destroy samples immediately following completion of tastings
• Licensee shall not serve a person under 21 years of age or intoxicated persons
• Licensee shall not serve more than 4 samples to a patron during a tasting
• Alcohol samples shall be in open containers and shall be provided free to patrons
• Tastings may not exceed 156 days per calendar year



COLORADO LIQUOR CODE 
ARTICLE 3, TITLE 44, C.R.S. 

Revised OCTOBER 1, 2018 

44-3-103. Definitions. As used in this article 3 and article 4 of this title 44, unless the context otherwise requires:

(56) "TASTINGS" MEANS THE SAMPLING OF MALT, VINOUS, OR SPIRITOUS LIQUORS THAT MAY
OCCUR ON THE PREMISES OF A RETAIL LIQUOR STORE LICENSEE OR LIQUOR-LICENSED
DRUGSTORE LICENSEE BY ADULT PATRONS OF THE LICENSEE PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS
OF SECTION 44-3-301 (10).

44-3-301. Licensing in general.

(10) (a) The provisions of this subsection (10) shall only apply within a county, city and county, or
municipality if the governing body of the county, city and county, or municipality adopts an ordinance or 
resolution authorizing tastings pursuant to this subsection (10). The ordinance or resolution may provide 
for stricter limits than this subsection (10) on the number of tastings per year per licensee, the days on 
which tastings may occur, or the number of hours each tasting may last.  

(b) A retail liquor store or liquor-licensed drugstore licensee who wishes to conduct tastings may
submit an application or application renewal to the local licensing authority. The local licensing authority 
may reject the application if the applicant fails to establish that he or she is able to conduct tastings 
without violating the provisions of this section or creating a public safety risk to the neighborhood. A 
local licensing authority may establish its own application procedure and may charge a reasonable 
application fee.  

(c) Tastings are subject to the following limitations:
(I) Tastings shall be conducted only:
(A) By a person who: Has completed a server training program that meets the standards

established by the liquor enforcement division in the department and is a retail liquor store or liquor-
licensed drugstore licensee, an employee of a retail liquor store or liquor-licensed drugstore licensee, or a 
representative, employee, or agent of the licensed wholesaler, brew pub, distillery pub, manufacturer, 
limited winery, importer, or vintner's restaurant promoting the alcohol beverages for the tasting; and  

(B) On a licensee's licensed premises.
(II) The alcohol beverage used in tastings must be purchased through a licensed wholesaler,

licensed brew pub, licensed distillery pub, or winery licensed pursuant to section 44-3-403 at a cost that is 
not less than the laid-in cost of the alcohol beverage.  

(III) The size of an individual alcohol sample shall not exceed one ounce of malt or vinous liquor
or one-half of one ounce of spirituous liquor.  

(IV) Tastings shall not exceed a total of five hours in duration per day, which need not be
consecutive. 

(V) The licensee may conduct tastings only during the operating hours in which the licensee on
whose premises the tastings occur is permitted to sell alcohol beverages, and in no case earlier than 11 
a.m. or later than 9 p.m.

(VI) The licensee shall prohibit patrons from leaving the licensed premises with an unconsumed
sample. 

(VII) The licensee shall promptly remove all open and unconsumed alcohol beverage samples
from the licensed premises, destroy the samples immediately following the completion of the tasting, or 
store any open containers of unconsumed alcohol beverages in a secure area outside the sales area of the 
licensed premises for use at a tasting conducted at a later time or date.  

(VIII) The licensee shall not serve a person who is under twenty-one years of age or who is visibly
intoxicated.  

(IX) The licensee shall not serve more than four individual samples to a patron during a tasting.
(X) Alcohol samples shall be in open containers and shall be provided to a patron free of charge.
(XI) The licensee may conduct tastings on no more than one hundred fifty-six days per year.



(XII) No manufacturer of spirituous or vinous liquors shall induce a licensee through free goods or 
financial or in-kind assistance to favor the manufacturer's products being sampled at a tasting. The retail 
liquor store or liquor-licensed drugstore licensee bears the financial and all other responsibility fora 
tasting conducted on its licensed premises.  

(d) A violation of a limitation specified in this subsection (10) by a retail liquor store or liquor-
licensed drugstore licensee, whether by the licensee's employees, agents, or otherwise or by a 
representative, employee, or agent of the licensed wholesaler, brew pub, distillery pub, manufacturer, 
limited winery, importer, or vintner's restaurant that promoted the alcohol beverages for the tasting, is the 
responsibility of, and section 44-3-801 applies to, the retail liquor store or liquor-licensed drugstore 
licensee that conducted the tasting.  

(e) A retail liquor store or liquor-licensed drugstore licensee conducting a tasting shall be subject 
to the same revocation, suspension, and enforcement provisions as otherwise apply to the licensee.  

(f) Nothing in this subsection (10) shall affect the ability of a Colorado winery licensed pursuant 
to section 44-3-402 or 44-3-403 to conduct a tasting pursuant to the authority of section 44-3-402 (2) or 
44-3-403 (2)(e). 
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